“If any one thing defined the life of Harriet Ross Tubman it was her love for her fellow human being. And her love was truly unconditional.”… Visit the Harriet Tubman Home! The Harriet Tubman Home, Inc. 180 South Street, Auburn, NY 13021 Telephone: (315) 252-2081 Executive Director: Karen V. Hill Email: email@example.com
Fun Fact about Syracuse & Onondaga County …. did you know ….. … the town of Jordan (incorporated in 1835) prospered particularly during 1830-1840 and 1870-85, when the Erie Canal made Jordan a principal commercial, industrial and transportation center for western Onondaga County. The village also experienced growth in the early twentieth century when Jordan enjoyed railroad and trolley service. …
Wednesday, May 19, 2010 Spring Lecture Series at The Athenaeum of Skaneateles. Topic: The History of the Erie Canal by Daniel Ward, Curator at The Erie Canal Museum 7:00 PM. Free of charge and open to the public. Call (315) 685-1400 to reserve your seat. the resident video download
What do Las Vegas, NV, Branson, MO and Auburn, NY, all have in common? A unique brand that helps visitors understand their unique environments, attractions and cultures. In August, the City’s Historic & Cultural Sites Commission introduced a new campaign to help create a new brand for Auburn, entitled: History’s Hometown. The Commission will promote the concept of History’s Hometown …
Learning about the Stained Glass Windows at St. Mary’s Sunday August 16 2 pm to 4 pm St. Mary’s of the Lake Church 81 Jordan St Skaneateles, NY St. Mary’s of the Lake Church invites the community to join them in learning about the stained glass windows at the Church. The windows have a great story to tell. St. Mary’s …
Welcome to the Finger Lakes Cultural and Natural History Museum Project, a proposal to create a new museum that will showcase the 9,000-square-mile Finger Lakes Region of New York State
The Willard-Case mansion, now home to the Cayuga Museum, was constructed by John Seymour in 1836. Seymour’s failure to pay back taxes resulted in bank ownership of the building from 1839 until 1843, when it was purchased by Sylvester Willard. Willard, his wife Jane Frances Case, two daughters, Georgiana and Carolina, and in-laws Erastus and Mary Case moved to Auburn from Bristol, Connecticut, in that same year. Sylvester Willard was a physician by profession and, with Erastus Case, was part owner of the Oswego Starch Company. Both men carried investments in local banks, railroads, and various industries.
- Page 2 of 2